Erasmus – Information for Incoming Students

Information about Faculty of Theology

Wydział teologiczny Uniwersytetu OpolskiegoFaculty of Theology in the Opole University is the successor of the 17-year scientific work of the Theological-Pastoral Institute, which used to be the branch of the Theological Faculty of the Catholic University of Lublin. It also has its roots in more than 50-year scientific tradition of the Higher Seminary in Nysa and Opole. Faculty of Theology was constituted on March 10th 1994 on a basis of the statute establishing the University of Opole. In 1995 the Faculty gained the right to confer  the  academic degree of PhD in humanities and in 2001 – the right to confer the academic degree of PhD habilitated in humanities. In 2000 The Conference of Rectors of Polish Universities, on the motion of the University Accreditation Commission, gave the Certificate of High Quality of Education to the course of theology. In 2002 a new course – Family Studies – was opened in the Faculty. In recent years two other courses were opened: Musicology and Mediterranean Culture. Theology and family studies programmes gained positive opinion of the State Accreditation Committee. The Faculty develops cooperation with scientific centres in Poland and abroad. It is especially connected on scientific field with theological faculties of universities in London, Bamberg, Mainz, Monastier, Leuven, Olomouc, Ratisbonne, Budapest, Arad  and Trnava. The Faculty has been a member of the International Federation of Catholic Universities (FUCE) in Europe since 2000. On the initiative of the Faculty Honoris Causa degrees have been awarded to such authorities as Pope John Paul II, Cardinal Walter Kasper, and Hans-Gert Pőtternig.
Students have the possibility to work in very well equipped laboratories and rooms for scientific work. They can study in the Faculty Library with Reading Room and Computer Laboratory with an access to the Internet and electronic databases. There is also a huge conference hall and gymnasium in the Department Buildings.

Faculty of Theology offers four Bachelor’s and Master’s Degree Programs:
– Theology,
– Family Science,
– Musicology,
– Mediterranean Culture.
These programs provide students with an opportunity to complete a bachelor’s degree in 3 years and a master’s degree in 2 years.
The Faculty also offers a four year PhD Programme in Theology

Academic courses

1) Theology: (Plan of studies; Syllabus)
2) Family Studies: (Plan of studies; Syllabus)
3) Musicology: (Plan of studies; Syllabus)
4) Mediterranean Studies: (Plan of studies; Syllabus)
In Academic year 2013/2014 the following courses are available in Faculty of Theology:
1) Evolution of Judaic Tradition In Europe
2) Psychology of Social Behaviour
3) Psychopathology of sexual life

attachments below (.pdf)

Erasmus Coordinator

Dariusz Krok, Ph.D.,
Vice-dean for Students and International Affairs,
Office hours: Tuesday 13.30-15.00,
Room 10,
Faculty of Theology,
str. Drzymały 1a,